Pandan Ogura Sponge Cake

IMG_4533IMG_1076

Pandan Ogura Cake adapted from Aunty Young

Scroll down for updated ingredients variation.

Ingredients:
A
egg yolk ~ 100g (about 5 eggs)
whole egg  1
salt  ~ 1/4 tsp
corn oil ~ 60g
pandan juice ~ 70g
coconut milk  ~20g
superfine flour  ~ 75g – I used plain flour for this cake, no problem:)

B
egg white  ~ 200g (from 5 eggs)
castor sugar ~ 80g
Cream of tartar ~ 1/4 tsp or 1 tsp lemon juice

utensil :
7″square pan or 8″ round pan – use the normal pan and line the bottom. Water bath method so make sure your pans are not leaking!

IMG_1093

Instructions for yolk batter:
1. Beat the egg yolk, whole egg, salt, corn oil, pandan juice and coconut milk until fluffy.
2. Sift in flour, then mix it until well combined.

IMG_1087

Instructions for egg whites:
1. Beat egg white + lemon juice (or cream of tartar) + castor sugar until firm peaks form.
2. Mix into egg yolk batter, 1/3 portion of the meringue at a time , first use a hand whisk to mix gently and at the end, switch to spatula to lift batter from bottom to fold up. Keep doing this until a nice smooth batter is obtained.
3. Pour the mixture into prepared pan, shaking gently from side to side to even out the top.
4. Put pan into a larger pan and filled up with hot water (about 1/3 of the batter pan). Bake with preheated oven at 160’C for 30 min then turn down to 150’C for 20 min.  Temperature is indicative only.
5. Once baked, remove from the pan immediately, inverted on a rack and let it cool. If the bottom is still slightly wet, invert the cake on a silpat and bake it at 120C for 10 minutes to dry it out. That means you bake it without the pan, putting the cake top side up directly on the silpat. Once done, transfer to a rack and cool completely before slicing.

IMG_1094

Latest update using Smeg oven to bake this:-

Ingredients variation:-

90g Flour instead of 75g

1 tsp of pandan paste

85g of santan (coconut cream)

40g of oil instead of 60g

Smeg oven temperature: 155C for 30 mins; 150C for 50 mins.

IMG_4509 IMG_4527 IMG_4529 IMG_4532

IMG_4554

Because of additional flour, the crumbs are finer and the cake is more stable and easier to bake.

106 Comments »

  1. kristy said

    I wonder how to start blogging in wordpress. Its a brand new start, Jeannie ! Wishing you all the best & looking forward to more from your kitchen.
    Blessings, Kristy

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Thank you for visiting Kristy, I have problems with the other blog, hence the migration….hope to see you around:D I am still taking baby steps with this new sites.

      Like

      • Peggy Tang said

        can you have it in cup measurements ? I don’t have a scale and your cake looks so fluffy

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        You can google for weight conversion online or refer to my conversion page.

        Like

  2. Fion said

    Hi Jeannie ,your ogura so prefect!I wish i could bake this perfect like yours.

    Like

  3. elyza said

    Hi Jeannie,

    How much pandan paste should I add if I can’t get pandan juice? What should I replace with since 70g of pandan juice is needed?

    Thank you for your advices!!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Elyza, you can use 1 tsp of paste and add coconut milk or water to get 70g of liquid.

      Like

  4. elyza said

    Hi Jeannie,

    Would like to check how much pandan paste should I add if I don’t have pandan juice? Should I add water, milk or coconut milk to replace 70 ml of pandan juice?

    Thanks!!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi elyza, I have not used the paste before but I guess one teaspoon is fine and you can substitute with either of the 3 liquid that you suggested.

      Like

  5. Lily kuan said

    Thanks Jeannie for the steps . I am gonna try this . Super like

    Like

  6. Vannesa said

    Hi Jeannie, for your latest variation, is your pandan paste in addition to the pandan juice or is it in replacement of the pandan juice? And same for the coconut cream, do you use that instead of coconut milk?

    Thanks!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Paste to replace juice and coconut milk and cream is the same😊

      Like

      • Vannesa said

        Ok!🙂
        And oh, is the water bath really necessary? I do not have a pan big enough to fill it up with water😦

        Liked by 1 person

  7. jeannietay said

    you can try steam bath method but at lower temperature.

    Like

  8. Agatha said

    Hi Jeanie,

    I tried but my cake doesn’t rise, what’s the reason?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I can’t really tell because I don’t know how you did it. Possibly you overmix your meringue with the batter.

      Like

      • Agatha said

        No worries, Jeannie, could be due to my egg whites which didn’t seem to peak. I shall try again!

        Like

  9. iingwidz said

    Hi jeannie, is it you brush a bit butter on your pan to make the cake no sticky & easy take out ?
    Becoz sometimes the chiffon cake so sticky on pan & make the side of cake not beautiful.
    thanks for ur reply.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes of course, you have to line the bottom and grease the sides well.

      Like

  10. Jessica said

    Hi Jeannie,
    May I check which step do I add the tartar cream in?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Jessica, When your eggwhites is foamy, you add in the tartar cream. Continue to beat till the foams are finer before gradually adding sugar to it.

      Like

  11. hi Jeannie, can I line the round pan (with inner plate) with baking sheet to prevent water from leaking into the round pan? Do I need to grease the bottom or only the side?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Florence, I usually place the cake pan into a smaller non leaking pan before puting into the water bath. You can do anything method as long as no water can get into the cake.

      Like

  12. Jaques said

    Hi Jeannie, may I ask for the updated variation, do we hv use both 85g coconut milk as well as 75g pandan juice? Thank you in advance. 😊

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Jaques, no you only use 1 tsp of pandan paste to mix into the coconut milk. If you wish to use pandan juice, just add the juice into coconut milk to make 90g of pandan/coconut milk liquid. Ratio is up to you but measure out 90g

      Like

  13. Winnie said

    Hi. Can I use cake flour or self raising flour . Thanks.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      yes you can use cake flour

      Like

      • Winnie said

        Thank. Wanna try make it today

        Like

  14. Calyn said

    Jeannie, for the updated recipe using smeg oven, can the 85 ml coconut milk ratio be replaced with milk and pandan juice if we do not hv pandan paste?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You can use the pandan juice in the first recipe which is 20ml coconut milk and 70g pandan juice.

      Like

  15. janet chan said

    jeannie, how to get e paste to DRAW e green love on e cake?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Add some color to a tablespoon of batter and mix well before dropping dollops on to top of cake.

      Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Janet, I just mix some pandan paste into the batter to get a darker green. You can use color if you have it.

      Like

  16. CO said

    Hi Jeannie, just wondering if you used an electric mixer to beat the yolk batter? Your ogura cakes are awesome!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      No, I don’t. Just need to use handwhisk. Are u from Facebook?

      Like

  17. Bowie Tan said

    Hi jeannie: may I ask if I can replace coconut in 1st recipe with same an out of fresh milk or water? My cornell oven is small, so I lower temp by 10 or 20 deg c with waterbath? Usually how much water needed for waterbath or steam bath? Thanks.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Bowie, YOu can replace the liquid with any flavor but make sure they are the same weight ya. Water bath don’t have to be precise quantity, I would roughly pour in until it comes up to a quarter of the baking pan. Temperature wise, you have to adjust according to your oven.

      Like

      • Bowie Tan said

        Dear Jeannie, may I ask if I can use Top flour or All purpose flour? I used top flour before on pandan chiffon and it’s really very soft but not tried using all purpose. Kindly advise. Maybe will try tomorrow or Friday evening. Thanks

        Like

  18. […] For those who’s interested, please do check out her recipe. […]

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Marian, I really love how your ogura turns out, it’s so fine and fluffy! Thanks for linking back!

      Like

  19. Karina Tan said

    Hi Jeannie..I always like your ogura cakes. I just wondering if I use 23 diameter pan / 9 inch round pan to bake the ogura cake, what will happen to the cake? Could it be as nice as yours or should I double the recipe?
    thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Karina, don’t have to adjust, you’ll just get a shorter cake but will bake faster.

      Like

      • Karina Tan said

        thank you Jeannie…

        Like

  20. […] Pandan Ogura matches perfectly with the plate don’t you think? […]

    Like

  21. chloe said

    Hi Jeannie
    Just wondering which cake taste better. More flavor ful. The one with less or the cake with more coconut milk. Also. Is there any difference in texture between these 2 cakes. And we should overturn the immediately to cool to prevent shrinkage. Thanks Jeannie for your help. Chloe

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I prefer less coconut milk. and turn over to peel off paper only. Then invert back on the rack to cool.

      Like

  22. Jacky said

    Great blog, I love it!!….Greetings from Perú…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Thank you for visiting, it’s amazing how we are connected all over the world!:D

      Like

  23. tsw 1668 said

    Hi Jeannie, I have tried Ogura for the second time. In both cases, I noticed that the bottom of the Ogura is a bit uncooked although I have baked them more than 1.5 hours using water bath. I used boiling water for the water bath.

    It seems that the batter level of the uncooked part is the same height as the water level.

    Do you baked in waterbath throughout the baking process or do you remove the water at some stage of the baking process?

    Appreciate your input on this.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      hi tsw, I assumed you are using the normal non-removable pan and have checked that there are no leakage. I bake with waterbath throughout the duration. You can try steambake if water bath method doesn’t work for you. Reduce the temperature by about 20C and adjust from there with your results.

      Like

      • tsw 1668 said

        Hi Jeannie
        I tried this Ogura Pandan cake again and I am happy to say that it was a success. I finally made it!!! hehehe. Am so happy. Thanks so much for your guidance🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jeannietay said

        Glad to know that you had succeeded..may I know how do you bake this cake this time?

        Like

      • tsw 1668 said

        Good morning Jeannie, there is no reply button to click in your comment yesterday. I am clicking reply to this statement instead.

        I was trying to recall what went wrong the previous 2 times (bearing in mind that I was using different ovens then cos the second time was done at my Mum’s place. Baked using my oven yesterday) though I had a hard time on this.

        These are the areas where I think I probably did not do it correctly:

        1) Batter did not whisk till fluffy….big mistake!
        2) Can’t tell much on this but whisked till stiff peak yesterday.
        3) Baked at middle of oven instead of bottom. Baked at bottom of oven yesterday.
        4) Extended the baking time yesterday to 1.30 hours. I did not want to risk it by under baking his time, lest my courage will be indescribable.

        What would I do differently next time:
        1) Bake for shorter time till I am satisfied with the shortest time possible.
        2) Do not whisk till stiff peak. To what stage should I beat until? This is where I am still toying with the idea.
        You see, if you look at Japanese Cheesecake, the meringue is whisked till soft peak only. Should it not apply to Ogura cake since they are both baked using water bath method? If not, why? I have yet to find the answer to this. It might be clearer after I test it. What’s your thought?

        That’s about what I can gather for now. Hope it helps in our understanding on the baking of the Ogura cake🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • tsw 1668 said

        Oops, for both points (2) above stiff peak, it was meant for Meringue.

        Btw, I brush oiled the side of the pan after reading the comments/feedback in this page. You might want to consider adding this point in the instructions above. Everything else in the instructions is clear and easy to understand.

        Like

  24. stphl1304 said

    Hi

    Can i dun use cream of tartar?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Can, just add a tsp of corn flour into the sugar for meringue.

      Like

  25. Eileen said

    Hi Jeannie

    I baked the pandan ogura cake but the bottom looks very moist.

    Any idea why?

    Thank you in advance.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      The reason of course is under baking. Bake longer until the cake springs back when you press lightly on the top.

      Like

  26. Jujuu said

    Hi.. Can i use removable pan to bkae thia ogura pandan cake?

    Like

    • Jujuu said

      Hi .can i use removable pan to bake thia pandan ogura cake?

      Like

      • jeannietay said

        Hi Jujuu, sorry for the late reply I don’t how I can miss this comment. To answer your question, yes you can use removable pan but you need to wrap it with several layers of foil to prevent water from seeping into your cake.

        Like

    • jeannietay said

      Can but not recommended, try baking with steam baking so you don’t have to submerge the cake pan into water.

      Like

  27. Linda Loh said

    Hi Jeannie,

    When I invert the cake, the top break and collapsed. How do I prevent this?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Be more gentle:P..Is your cake cooked through?

      Like

      • margarita90 said

        Hi Jeannie,i been trying pandan ogura.whats the difference water bath and steam bake? I used oven black pan on the lowest level in oven,8inch cake pan a level above it.my mistral oven i need tune to temp 200 on the faulty knob to get reading 150 on the termometer placed next to my cake pan.today the cake seems cooked through but it collapsed in middle.i oiled the bottom of pan n line w paper but i did not grease the sides.is it needed?

        Is 8inch square pan too big?also i struggled having to add hot water when the base pan run out of water.i took hot water fr water filter.guess it was only temp 80.it wasnt hot enough right?must get ready kettle boiling water?how many times u need to add hot water throughout the 80min baking? Thanks

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        The way you described, you were baking with steam bake method. Your cake pan was not submerged into the water. Water bath is also called bain marie method just like baking a cheesecake. The cake pan is submerged into a pan filled with hot water up to about a third of the cake pan. It won’t dry up to the extend of having to top up with more water. And using hot water is sufficient not necessarily hot boiling.

        Like

      • margarita90 said

        Thanks for your quick response.I never knew there was a difference.a fren taught me to put pan below n fill w water.i thought more convenient.to confirm with you,where should i place my termometer?since i need to put a larger pan outside d baking pan.my oven doesnt seem to be accurate at all.my found that the temperature fluctuates 140 to 160 when i opened the oven door to put alu foil to cover top or add hot water whn it finishes. Actually how many times maximum can i open the oven door?i struggle on this part.thanks lots

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        I don’t add water at all, so make sure it’s enough when you first put it in. I don’t cover with foil either. I suggest you do that only after baking for at least 30 minutes. DO not keep opening the door. Place your thermometer at the hottest spot in your oven? I don’t do that either so it’s just a suggestion.

        Like

      • margarita90 said

        May i know what brand is your oven?i struggle w my cheapo oven because it is not accurate?

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        Some bakers using cheapo also with great success:P Mine is a built in oven.

        Like

  28. Peterson said

    I have had this page bookmarked for more than 3 months but only today that I actually made effort as I wanted to check whether the cheese flavoring I bought would taste nice because I am planning to use it for a crusting cream cheese buttercream. I changed the pandan paste with the cheese flavoring and used whipping cream for the coconut cream. The cake turned out nicely. The texture is a bit dense (I used the second variation) but still really spongy. I’ll try to make the first version and see which one I would prefer. The cheese flavoring though was a disappointment due to the artificial scent. But the actual taste of the cake was not affected much. Tomorrow, i’ll do this again with pandan paste. I am excited! Thank you Jeannie for this recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Glad you find this cake delicious, hope the 2nd cake would turn out better.

      Like

  29. Jess said

    Hi,i’m using 7inches aluminum round pan.will that do or best that i reduce the portion by working out the ratio of ingredients(by dividing by 8 then mutiply by 7)?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, you need to do that and round it up. Alternatively, bake the balance in cupcakes liners.

      Like

  30. Michelle said

    In your latest variation, using smeg oven, do you still bake with water bath method? or the variation is to bake without the water bath? Please, clarify. Many thanks.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      No, still need to bake with water bath.

      Like

  31. Jess said

    Thanks Jeannie for your prompt reply.meanwhile,I would like to check. Can I add more sugar to it?say around 50g?will it affect the result?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Ya, it will make your cake very sweet lol! Other than that, no, I don’t think the texture will be affected.

      Like

  32. Jess said

    And Jeannie,do you think I can change 1 tsp of pandan paste to 1/2 tsp paste + 1/2 tsp pandan essence(colorless)?cos my paste color is very bright..

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Can as long as you are satisfied with the color. It won’t affect the texture, just the taste would not be as fresh as real pandan juice.

      Like

  33. Jess said

    Thanks Jeannie!meanwhile,I would like to ask you whether do i need to change the temperature and timing if I’m using an 8 inches black springform pan?because I seem to read somewhere that black pan is faster to heat up.if yes,any idea what timing and temperature I should go for?thank you for the prompt replies!really appreciate it!🙂

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Can reduce 20 degrees from normal temperature

      Like

  34. Belinda said

    Hi Jeannie, there is mention of lemon juice in the recipe description. How much do we need? Or is it a typo?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Belinda, thanks for pointing it out. I have amended the error.

      Like

      • Belinda said

        Thank you Jeannie!❤

        Like

  35. Lisa said

    Hi Jeannie,
    Your cake is so perfect and smooth. I just wonder if i can open the oven door immediately after baking is done or do i need to wait for while? Can i check the cake by opening the door, will it shrink?
    You stated that additional flour will make cake become more stable and easier to bake, so how many additional flour do i need to add?
    I baked it before but it shrink down alot after i take it out from oven and my batter is wet too. Please advise me. Thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      THe recipe for more flour is in the blog post too. Scroll down a bit. Can open and check for doneness. Bake longer if it’s still undercooked. Temperature depends on your own oven. So do not follow mine exactly.

      Like

  36. Lisa said

    Hi Jeannie,
    Your cake is so perfect and smooth. I just wonder if i can open the oven door immediately after baking is done or do i need to wait for while? Can i check the cake by opening the door, will it shrink?
    You stated that additional flour will make cake easier to bake. May i know how many additional flour i need to add?
    I baked it before but it shrink down alot after i take it out from oven and my batter is wet too. Please advise me. Thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I have a variation in that post which has more flour. Please scroll down for it. If your cake shrinks a lot it’s probably due to underbaking. Adjust the temperature accordingly. Bake till the top is crusty for smooth top. Batter should be runny enough that you do not have to use a spatula to smoothen it.

      Like

  37. Amy said

    Thank you for the recipe. It was spot on. I followed the revised 1. It was perfect. Although I think I needed more pandan flavor.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Glad you like it, pandan can use more leaves and blend with coconut milk so don’t have to add water to get juice.

      Like

  38. Ze said

    how come the sides of your cake do not brown?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Because I used water bath method. Just like Japanese Cheesecake, the side also not brown.

      Like

  39. Mag said

    So lovely! I love the little leave on top. You are a baker cum artist!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Mag, thank you for visiting, hope you will give it a try too!:D

      Like

  40. Vicky Baluyut said

    IFilipinos love pandan, I will definitely try this onw out,hope it turns out like yours. Can you give the F ahrenheit temp pls, and can you pls tell me what “caste sugar” is?Thank you

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      A simple google online will give you the conversion of temperature. Caster sugar or castor sugar is also known as confection sugar used for baking cakes.

      Like

  41. Ruth said

    Hi Jeannie, I’m intending to use your recipe to make a pandan layered cake. However I’m torn between the pandan ogura sponge cake and the pandan sponge cake. What’s the difference between these 2 recipes and which do you recommend? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Use the spongecake, it’s got more flour thus it won’t be squashed

      Like

  42. Loh Huiling said

    Hi Jeannie,

    I see that most of your sponge cakes are baked with water bath. Can I not do that? How different will the cakes turn out?

    Btw, love all of your cake posts!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You can try using lower much temperature to bake without water bath. Alternatively, use steam bake method.

      Like

  43. Ramela said

    Hi Jeannie, I’m a bit confused of the total amount of liquid needed for this recipe, pls. clarify. What is the total amount of coconut cream or coconut milk, pandan juice, pandan paste? From what I know, coconut cream is thicker than coconut milk, so w/c on should we use? Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      There are two versions here, either you try the first one which has less flour or the second one. I usually use coconut milk as it’s not easy to get coconut cream here.

      Like

  44. Yanny Lum said

    Hi,do we need to use baking powder or soda?

    Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

