Nigella’s Mother-in-law’s Madeira Cake – Bake Along #79

IMG_6083 As I read the ingredients, I was rather skeptical as to the taste of this cake.  I was thinking, perhaps too much flour? However, since this recipe is from the famous Nigella, I guess it can’t be bad huh? So I go ahead and made it as per her instructions except switching lemon for orange. The result was a dense cake with very fine crumbs not unlike a butter cake, but the refreshing smell of orange. I also ended up with cake slices minus the top because all fell off. Perhaps I had sprinkled on the sugar too evenly?

IMG_6091

Crumbs everywhere as I sliced into it, by the time I was done slicing, the cake had lost most of the crust lol!

This recipe is adapted from Nigella’s website as her cookbook in my possession was written in cups measurement.

Ingredients:-

240 grams unsalted butter (softened)

200 grams caster sugar (plus extra for sprinkling)

grated zest and juice of 1 orange

3 large eggs

210 grams self-raising flour

90 grams plain flour

Method:

Untensil =  9 x 5 x 3 in loaf pan, greased and lined. Preheat the oven to 170ºC. Bake on 2nd level counting from bottom (my oven has 5 levels).

1. Cream the butter and sugar until soft and then add the orange zest.

2. Add the eggs one at a time together with a tablespoon of the flour for each. This is to prevent the mixture from curdling I am guessing.

3. Add in the rest of the flour in 2 portions with orange juice in between the additions. Pour into prepared pan and even out the top.

4. Sprinkle with caster sugar (about 2 tablespoons) before sending it to the oven and bake for 1 hour or until a skewer inserted and  comes out clean.

5. Remove to a cooling rack, and let cool in the tin before unmoulding. IMG_6088 Bake Along Logo

I am linking this post to Bake-Along #79, an event hosted by Joyce, Lena or Zoe

9 Comments »

  1. lena said

    hi jeannie, yes, the top crust of my cake fell off easily too…sounds like you are not too fond of this cake…hehe..

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yep, I find it a tad too dry!

      Like

  2. Doreen said

    Hi Jeannie,
    I just baked this cake last night.
    Your cake has a thicker crust then mine. Must be nice and crunchy🙂
    mui

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      If I didn’t loose it all then nice, lol!

      Like

  3. Hi Jeannie,

    Sorry to hear that you find the cake a little too dry. Like Doreen, I did noticed that your cake has a thicker and darker crust than mine too.

    Zoe

    Like

  4. Karen (Luvswesavory) said

    Hi Jeannie,
    I like the sugary crusty topping of your cake.

    Like

  5. Hi Jeannie,
    I did not sprinkle any sugar over the top, so don’t know how it tastes like with the sugary crispy top! But it sounds good!
    Thanks for baking along with us!

    Like

  6. Jeannie, perhaps you can try it again.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yep, perhaps I would, thanks for visiting:)

      Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

