Vanilla Butter Ogura cake

van8

11219438_10153077113790000_1452957894474161650_n

Ingredients:

3 egg yolks (Large about 65g)
1 egg
50g superfine flour, sifted
50 g full cream milk
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
20g vegetable oil
20g butter
pinch of salt (omit if using salted butter)
3 egg whites
40g castor sugar
1/8 tsp cream of tartar

Utentil: 6″ round pan, line bottom with baking paper (can use a square pan for shorter cake)
Baking temp/time: 150C/50 mins. Oven preheated to 160C then lowered to 150C when cake is in.
van1Instructions:-
1. In a bowl, mix together the yolks, 1 whole egg, salt, vanilla extract and milk.
2. Heat up the oil and butter until small bubbles appears then remove from heat and immediately pour in the flour and stir into a smooth paste. Transfer into a mixing bowl.
3. Add the egg yolk and milk to the mixture and stir until smooth and flowy.
4. In a stand mixer, whisk the egg whites until frothy before adding the cream of tartar. Continue beating until fine foams before adding sugar gradually and beat till firm peaks.
5. Take 1/3 of the meringue and mix into the yolk batter, stirring with a hand whisk until combined. Add another 1/3 portion and mix until combined before adding the final 1/3 and then switch to spatula to scoop the batter from bottom and fold up on to the batter until no more yolk batter is visible.
6. Pour into prepared pan, shake the pan from side to side to even out the top and bake in a water bath at 150C for 50 minutes or until cooked.
7. Removed from oven and cool for a while before unmoulding and peel off the paper before inverting back up.
If the bottom and sides are still damp, put back on silpat or baking paper and bake for a further 2-3 minutes on very low heat (120C).
11406401_10153077113595000_6169636249164275661_n
van5
vav6

60 Comments »

  1. Karen Yap said

    Hi Jeannie,
    At 1st glance, it looks like the Japanese cheesecake. This ogura cake is so nicely baked😀

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Thanks Karen, why don’t you try it, it’s pretty easy and very small!

      Like

  2. Karen Yap said

    Hi Jeannie, thanks for the encouragement. Will try this recipe one day as a few of my ‘water bath’ bakes didn’t turn out well. Bookmarked this recipe 1st.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on d'liteful cravings and commented:
    Wow, must try!

    Like

  4. chloe said

    Hi Jeannie. Another fabulous bake from you . you reign when it comes to ogura. I hope to try this but as mentioned before my previous ogura shrank at the sides. Yours is tall and mighty. Perfect. OK questions. Do you need to grease the side of the pan? Also do you need to cool the flour/oil mixture before adding in the yolk. My folding is no good and I see volume dropping when I add in the meringue. Any tips would be helpful. Hope to try this as soon as I hear from you. I don’t have a 6 inch pan. Will makedo with 7 inch. Thanks chloe

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Chloe, Yes, you can grease the side of the pan for easier removal. However, I have tried not greasing before and it is still possible to unmould cleanly. Just wait till the cake as shrank away from the sides of the mould before using a sharp thin knife to go round the pan before inverting. To cool the flour/oil mixture, I usually pour in the cold milk to mix first before adding the yolk. In my recipes, I always instruct to add 1/3 of meringue first to lighten the yolk/flour batter. For this part, you need not be gentle. Just make sure everything is mixed up. THen add another portion and this time try to be gentle, still using your hand whisk. Add the final part, use the whisk to gently mix in the meringue then switch to a spatula to scoop the batter from the bottom of the bowl and FOLD up. Keep doing this until you cannot see any streaks of yellow batter.

      Like

  5. Eileen said

    Hi Jeannie!

    I’m glad that I found your page!

    May I know if the texture of the cake will be different if I use a short squarish baking pan instead of the tin you as shown in your picture? Do I still need to grease the pan if it is already a non-stick pan?

    I’ve been baking almost weekly but always turn out to be hard especially the side. Appreciate if you can share with the possible reasons.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Eileen, No effect on texture of cake, maybe shorter and bake time will be shorter. Not necessary to grease sides. Hard sides? I can only think you have overbaked it. Preheat oven only for few minutes. My oven will beep when it reaches the temperature I wanted. You might want to use a thermometer or just preheat few minutes is fine.

      Like

  6. Eileen said

    Hi Jeannie, sorry one more Q.

    You mentioned to preheat the oven at 160’C, but may I know for how long do you preheat before you put the cake in?

    As for the oven, do you turn on the fan?

    Thank you.

    Like

  7. Melissa said

    Hi Jeanny,

    May I know the superfine flour that you mentioned is the same as Hong Kong flour? Or rather it is cake flour?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, it’s cake flour

      Like

  8. Yemima Hintono said

    On step 3, should we wait for the oil+butter+flur mixture to be cool? Thx

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Just add the milk first. That will cool down the flour enough for you to add in the egg yolks.

      Like

  9. Yemima Hintono said

    On step 3, should we wait for the oil+butter+Flour mixture to be cool? Thx

    Like

  10. Esther said

    Is the cake more butter taste or egg taste? cuz the butter used is quite little. The butter to use should be salted or unsalted? Thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Can taste butter even though it’s little. If using unsalted then have to add some salt.

      Like

  11. Josephine said

    Made this today and it turned out really great! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      So glad to hear that!

      Like

  12. Nadine said

    Hi .. Jeannie .. I try your recipe for the 2nd time and I don’t have the same results as you .. ;( both time my cake come out flat .. Even 6 cm ..
    I make all the steep like you explain but no way .. Results are the same ..

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Why don’t a video of what you did and send it to me? Did you use any substitute ingredients? Or bake in steam bath and bake it until it’s cooked? Temperature and timing you have to follow your own oven.

      Like

  13. Ginn said

    Hello, love your blog! Can I know, for more butter tastes, can I omit oil and use 40g butter instead?
    Can I also use this cake as base of a layer cake with chocolate buttercream? Thank you!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, I don’t see why not. That’s answering to both your questions.

      Like

  14. Do I need the cream of tartar to complete the cake or does it just add to the taste?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You use cream of tartar to stabilise the meringue.

      Like

  15. Just tried this the other day, superb!! The texture is velvety and light, not as dry as chiffon. Thanks for this Ogura cake recipe. I need to bake longer as the bottom part was still a bit sticky and dense but overall can be considered a 90% success!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, you need to adjust temperature accordingly, hope your next bake would be 100% success:D

      Like

  16. mia said

    i dont have cream of tar tar in italy its not easy to find it . so what can i do ?

    Like

  17. Mami said

    Hi, I am trying to buy a cake pan. How deep is yours? Thaka

    Like

  18. jenlps said

    Hi Jeannie, I’ve tried baking this cake today but my oven don’t have top n bottom heat. My cake turn out cracked on the top … I used fan forced bottom heat .. . Any advice for me ?
    My oven only have top grill w bottom heat (no fan) which I’m worry that it’s not suitable ..pls advice ..

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi, you can try reducing temperature to 20C lower as fan mode is usually hotter

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Oni said

    Hi I made this twice and both times it was delicious. However my cake is not as beautiful as your. It sinks when done. Not in the centr only but the whole cake. I like that look as well but was wondering what I’ m doing wrong? My eggs are room temp, my oven is preheated, I use fat daddio pans and my whites are beaten till stiff. Today I doubled the recipe and had to bake almost 40 min longer. Any tips what I should do? Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, this cake needs long baking time in order to cook through. Under baking it will resulted in deflated cakes.

      Like

  20. Foodviaphotos said

    Thanks for sharing your recipe! Unfortunately, my cake didn’t turn out like yours. For one thing, it was quite short in height. In addition, there was a thin eggy layer at the bottom of my cake. I wonder what went wrong?
    Do you think perhaps it was whipping or folding the egg whites? Because after I folded in the egg whites, my batter was kind of runny.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      yep, you have deflated your meringue. You should not whip it too stiff or you will have to fold more to incorporate into the batter.

      Like

      • Hannah said

        Hi dear….i loved this one …it taste better than chiffon…thanx for the wonderful recipe…pls how many whole eggs can i add to d egg yolk if im using 40eggs

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        Just double up the recipe accordingly.

        Like

  21. Ana said

    This recipe doesn’t seem right, are you sure it is only 50g of flour with all those eggs, milk and butter?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Ana, yes, I am pretty sure it’s correct.

      Like

  22. Hannah said

    Hi dear…i got confused abt using 40 eggs…how can i combine the recipe

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You must have a huge mixer! Just multiply every ingredients by 10. Put 10 whole eggs into the yolk batter and separate the balance 30 eggs.

      Like

  23. Jessica said

    My cake turn out as what I expect, but is only 3cm high😔

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      how come so short? 6″ round pan?

      Like

      • Jessica said

        Slightly bigger and I use a square pan

        Like

  24. Jessica said

    Gonna give a try again with a smaller pan and not folding the meringue too stiff

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You do know that square pan have to use one size smaller right?

      Like

  25. Lin said

    Hi Jeannie, pls can you enlighten – what’s the difference between Ogura cake and your other fluffy sponge cakes? I’ve always been a bit puzzled by the Ogura.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Lin, It’s just same as other sponge cakes except with more liquid thus make it more difficult to bake. Personally, I preferred sponge cakes.

      Like

      • Lin said

        Thought that might be the case… variations on a theme! Thanks for replying : )

        Like

  26. chris said

    Hi Jeannie

    I am in the process of baking this cake. May I know why the top cracked?

    Thanks
    Chris

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Obvious answer is oven too hot. Not so obvious is meringue too stiff.

      Like

  27. Martine said

    I did everything exactly according to the recipe, cooked for 50 minutes in 130c (fan oven). They were beautiful in the oven (very nicely risen) and left them to cool for a while in the oven with the door ajar. When I took them out they completely deflated…😦

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      got to be underbaked. 50 minutes is too short.

      Like

  28. Kera :) said

    Reblogged this on Kera.

    Like

  29. Olivia Tan said

    Hi Jeannie,
    I’d like to try baking this cake on 8″ round pan, should I double the recipe? And for the consistency of the final batter would be thick or a bit runny?
    Thanks in advance!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      yes doubled the recipe. Batter should be smooth lol! You should not need to use a spatula to even out the top. Just need to tap gently and the top should smoothen out.

      Like

      • Olivia Tan said

        Hi Jeannie, thank you for your reply. I’m in the middle of baking it right now… it seems my batter not too smooth, maybe my meringue wasn’t right. Will let you know the final result. Thanks!

        Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

