6″ Japanese Cotton Cheesecake, 3 cakes, different temperatures/timing, different results

IMG_8118

IMG_8143

Cake no. 1 - Baked at low temperature of 135C for 1 hour 10 minutes - hair line cracks otherwise not too bad

Cake no. 1 – Baked at low temperature of 135C for 1 hour 10 minutes – hair line cracks otherwise not too bad

Cake no. 2: Baked at 200C for 17 minutes then lowered to 160C for 30 minutes. Cracked beautifully as you can see, the crust is lovely!

Cake no. 2: Baked at 200C for 17 minutes then lowered to 160C for 30 minutes. Cracked beautifully as you can see, the crust is lovely!

Cake No. 3, same 200C for 17 minutes but reduced to 135C for the next 30 minutes. Switch off oven and leave cake inside for 20 minutes before removing.

Cake No. 3, same 200C for 17 minutes but reduced to 135C for the next 30 minutes. Switch off oven and leave cake inside for 20 minutes before removing.

No matter what, the taste is not compromised, all 3 cakes tasted absolutely delicious!

No matter what, the taste is not compromised, all 3 cakes tasted absolutely delicious!

The recipe in case you want to try it:-
Ingredients:

125g cream cheese (1/2 block)

3 egg yolks

35g castor sugar

30g butter

50g full cream milk

1 Tsp lemon juice

30g cake flour (I have tried plain flour too and it still works)

10g cornflour

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp Vanilla extract

3 egg whites

1/8 tsp cream of tartar

35g castor sugar

Method:

1. Pre-heat oven to 200°C (Top and bottom heat, no fan force)

2. Line bottom of a 6in x 3in round cake pan and grease the sides.

3. Using a hand whisk, whisk the cream cheese, sugar (35g) and butter on a double boiler until smooth and sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat. (I usually leave them in the double boiler to melt while I prepare the rest of the ingredients. By the time I am done, the cheese and butter would have been soft and easier to whisk.)

4. Add cold milk and whisk until combined. The cold milk helps to cool down the mixture enough to enable you to add in the yolks without cooking them!

5. Add egg yolks one at a time and whisk until smooth.

6. Add vanilla, salt, lemon juice and whisk again.

7. Sift flour and fold into mixture until fully combined. Set aside. (Most times I just used the same whisk to blend it in.)

8. Whisk whites in a clean, dry bowl at low speed till foamy.

9. Add cream of tartar and beat at high speed till bubbles become very small but still visible.

10. Gradually add sugar (35g) and beat till soft peaks.

11. Fold whites into batter 1/3 at a time. Fold with a hand whisk (yes, the same hand whisk) until combined before adding another 1/3 portion. Finally add the last 1/3 and switch your hand whisk for a spatula to gently fold until smooth and no streaks of meringue is visible. Make sure that you scoop right to the bottom so that you do not missed any cheese batter.

12. Pour batter into prepared pan and tap the pan on the counter to release air bubbles.

14. Bake in a waterbath at 200C (no fan) for 17 mins on lowest rack in the oven then reduced to 135C for another 30 minutes before switching off oven, and leave cake in oven for 20 mins. Remove from the oven and wait for a couple of minutes if the cake has not yet pulls away from the cake pan.

15. Unmould once cake has pulled away from the sides of pan by inverting on to a smooth non-stick pan, peel off the lining paper and invert it back on to a rack to cool.

81 Comments »

  1. Karen (Luvswesavory) said

    Hi Jeannie,
    Wow so nice ! All so gorgeous! Yea different oven temperature but won’t compromise the yummy taste. Thanks for sharing these lovely cheesecakes ^-^!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SY said

    Hi

    A quick check on the cream cheese.
    U mentioned 125g but indicate 1 block.
    Shouldn’t 1 block be 250g?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi SY, yes that’s an error, should be 1/2 block. My bad.

      Like

    • Nalene said

      Hi

      Can you please change the main recipe to read 250ml for the cream cheese.and the corn flour included in your floud section of the recipe.I made the cake as per recipe and did not turn out like yours I assume due to the errors in the main ingredients. Thanks

      Like

      • jeannietay said

        I have no idea what you are trying to say. I have read through and there are no mistakes in the quantities of the ingredients.

        Like

  3. Mary said

    Hi Jeannie, is corn flour the same as corn starch?
    Please reply

    Like

  4. Septi said

    Thank you for sharing the recipe!! I made this on new year, the result was beautiful and it was a hit!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      So glad you found success, happy baking:)

      Like

  5. looks great! do you leave it in the waterbath until the end?

    Like

  6. Daniel Gao said

    Did you preheated the water too?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I just use the remaining water from melting the cheese. Don’t have to be boiling hot.

      Like

  7. Cathycho said

    Hi Jeannie, how do I adjust the ingredient if I want to bake a 8″?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Double up ingredients

      Like

  8. corn flour are you referring to corn starch? Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. kiky said

    HI, do you bake it using both heat, up and bottom on?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Yes, my oven cannot adjust so have to use top and bottom.

      Like

  10. Naqiah said

    Hi

    Just a quick check on the full cream milk. Is it 50g or 50ml?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      It’s about the same. Try weighing 50g and pour into a measuring jar🙂

      Like

  11. Naqiah said

    Hi

    Just a quick check on the full cream milk. Is it 50g or 50ml?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I weigh it so it’s 50g. You can use 50ml it’s also the same. It’s liquid milk by the way.

      Like

  12. joanna said

    Hi jeannie, tried to bake this but wasnt beautiful like yours.
    The cake raised beautifully and it cracked quite badly i assume is to do with the oven temp? Also mine collapsed after a while, why is that?thanks for your help

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      First, obviously the temperature is too hot, making the cake rise too fast and too high. Also you might want to beat your meringue to soft peaks if you have not done that already.

      Like

  13. Hannah said

    If I double up the ingredients, do I have to adjust cooking time?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Not in this case but do adjust according to your oven.

      Like

  14. Denise said

    Hi Jennie the hand whisk you mentioned is it also run by electric without the stand or just the normal handheld without electric? Thank you.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Just the noram handheld without electric.

      Like

  15. Doss said

    hi can i bake the cake without salt and lomon?

    Like

  16. justina said

    Hi jeani.. can i add in fresh blueberries in the batter??

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      can try to place it gently on the top

      Like

  17. Kel said

    hello Jeannie, a very noob question. How do we know its cooked? Your cake looks suuper yummy!!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      press lightly on the top, if springs back it’s a good indication. Or you can test with a skewer.

      Like

  18. Shida said

    Hi Jeannie, I baked this yesterday and it turns out differently than the one I baked before using the 8″ pan. This time using the 6″ pan, cake was slightly dense and it cracks on top. I have no problem with the 8″ pan so far..my cheesecake was perfect but not this time round😦 I cannot figure out where went wrong..

    Like

  19. April said

    Hi,
    I have baked the cake based on your recipe. However, my cake did not cracked on the top but the whole cake rise up too much and the shape of the cake appear to be like a mushroom. Any idea what went wrong?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      because it’s too hot, adjust temperature lower.

      Like

  20. Dan said

    What is the corn flour used for? There is no mentioning when or for what you used it for, beside it being listed in the ingredients.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Sorry, on item no.7, when I said flour, I meant cake flour and corn flour.

      Like

  21. Chin said

    Hello Jeannie,
    I need to pre bake this cake, how long can I pre-bake and keep in fridge for? thanks in advance for your reply! =D

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I would say about 5 days. Well sealed so it won’t be dry

      Like

      • Chin said

        thanks Jeannie! Im gonna try it tomorrow! =D

        Liked by 1 person

  22. Jessica said

    I have tried the recipe yesterday. My hubby said, although is not perfectly cut, but taste just like we usually buy from the bakery.😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Glad to know that. Use a serrated knife to get neat slices.

      Like

  23. Tochi said

    Thank you for posting this! I really want to make this cake but I only have a 7inch pan, not a 6inch. Don’t suppose you’d know the adjustments needed for the size difference?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Multiply all ingredients by 1.361

      Like

      • Tochi said

        Thanks so much!
        So I made the cake today but the top didn’t brown, even though I followed the instructions. Maybe it’s just my oven. Is there anything I can do to brown it even though it’s fully baked? I know it’s just aesthetic but I want it to look pretty😦

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        when done, shift to higher level and bake until golden brown.

        Like

  24. Sonia said

    Mine never turn out that tall. Can’t wait to try it! Thanks so much for posting the recipe 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Most welcome, remember to adjust temperature and timing according to your own oven.

      Like

  25. Hi there Jeannie! I tried making this using your recipe and it turned out not only great, but super awesome! Just wanted to let you know that. It’s now one of the family’s favourites!🙂

    Like

  26. ronald said

    Thanks for the receipy… Cant hardly wait for try it at homes. If i wanna make it into 20CM pan 7CM hight, what the amount of ingredients? I also has a top n bottom fire oven with controlling each, still both of them the same heat? What about if this cake change to chocolate cake w/o cheese? How come the receipy? Thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Ronald, to bake in a 20cm ROUND pan, double the recipe. I have not used a separate control for top and bottom before so I can’t advise on that. If you want a chocolate cake, try a chocolate cake recipe!

      Like

  27. Mei Lee Foo said

    Hi would like to ask how not to make the cake shrink & wrinkled & still look nice once at room temperature ?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      You can apply a glaze immediately over the top after you have unmould. I heard it helps. If not, bake until the top if golden and crusty.

      Like

  28. Yanny Lum said

    Hi Jeannie,

    Can I omit lemon?can I use cream of tartar only?

    Like

  29. Tammy said

    Hi Jeannie,

    I just tried your recipe using 6″ cake pan. I only got 4cm in height even when it was inside the oven – it didn’t rise fully til the top of the cake pan’s😦. Not sure what went wrong. Any tips?

    Thanks,
    Tammy

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      hmm..could be you deflated all your meringue. Any dense layer at the bottom?

      Like

      • Tammy said

        Hi Jeannie,

        I just tasted it. It’s dense all over – very equal haha.

        Could it also be that I stirred to much during the incorporation of the flour?

        Cheers,
        Tammy

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        Before adding the meringue, you can stir all you want, but once the meringue us added, you need to gentle, scoop from bottom of bowl and fold up, turning the bowl and keep repeating until no streaks of cheese batter can be seen. Perhaps you might want to visit our group Bake The Talk, there is a post showing you the step by step.

        Like

      • Tammy said

        Thanks Jeannie – where can I go to this group “Bake The Talk” that you recommended? I seriously need to see the step by step :-s.

        Cheers,
        Tammy

        Like

  30. Serena said

    Hi Jeannie,

    Did you use boiling water, hot water or room temp water for the water bath?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I use the water from double boiling the cheese so I would say, it’s hot water.

      Like

  31. Nina said

    Hey jeanni. Just wanna ask what brand of cream cheese did you use. I live in indo do you know where to buy it from? Gonna try this recipe soon🙂 wish me luck

    Like

  32. Nina said

    Hey jeanni. Just wanna ask what brand of cream cheese did you use? I live in indo would you know where I can buy it from? I’m going to try your recipe soon🙂

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Use Philladelphia creamcheese if can’t find other brand.

      Like

  33. nina said

    hiya. i have 9inc cake tin. should i just double the recipe? and what about the cooking time?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Please go to conversion page

      Like

  34. Audrey Ang said

    Hi, may I know what do you mean by water bath? Thanks in advance

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Bath with your baking pan submerged in hot water

      Like

  35. evvie said

    Hi Jeannie can i omit cream of tartar?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      replace with lemon juice, 1 tsp

      Like

  36. Alison said

    Hi Jeannie I have a dumb question that I hope you can answer will any of these 3 cheesecake baking temperature be used in any of your 8″ inch cheesecake recipe …..? I tried using your cheesecake recipe temperature but it always comes out crack 🤔💔I always get heartbroken I could never make a crack free cake that I could proudly present to my family 😶BTW I ❤️All your cake recipe please keep posting I will try to buy more pans so I could bake more of your recipe if my mom lets me LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Alison, most of my bakes used the standard 8″ round pan or the 8″ tube pan so you just need to invest in these two. The temperatures suggested are only as a guideline as every oven varies. I am afraid you just have to bake your way to a smooth topped cake!

      Like

      • Alison said

        Okay thank you for replying ☺️

        Like

  37. Liljana said

    Hi
    I would like to know abot corn flour is it the grainy one or the corn starch which one to use and did you combine it with cake flour.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      oh it’s corn starch.

      Like

  38. Rizky said

    I’ve tried to make this cake with your recipe. I did step by step exactly like writen in the ricipe. But the result was so disappointing. It didn’t turn like yours. It was not fluffy or airy. Was there any mistake that I did? What’s the solutions to make my cake better like yours?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Keep practising as I did!

      Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

