Pandan custard(kaya) cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Follow the cake recipe here
Kaya (Custard) recipe largely adapted from Kitchen Tigress’s Recipe
Do visit her blog to watch her video which is really helpful
Note: I have doubled up the amounts which is sufficient for an 8″ round cake.

Ingredients:
600 g water
1 tsp white agar-agar powder (+ a pinch –  I find the custard on the soft side, so I would add that extra pinch the next time)
90 g sugar
50 g unsalted butter
80 g pandan juice
1/4 tsp salt

240 g fresh coconut milk
70 g white hoen kwe flour

2 tsps pandan paste (I used green liquid color)
2 large drops yellow food colour

Utensil:  An 8″ cake ring,  wrapped with foil, placed on a cake board or a 8″round normal cake pan or an 8″ round removable bottom cake pan (do wrap with foil first)

NOTE: 1st cake, I used a cake ring, which I need to wrap with foil to prevent leakage, and also I found that the cake ring was too short.

2nd cake, I used back the same normal 8″ round cake pan that I used to bake the sponge cake. Before pouring in the first layer of custard, just rinse the pan and shake off access water. This will enable the cake to drop out easily once it’s set in the fridge for a few hours.  Do not be tempted to cut it until it is in the fridge overnight.

 

IMG_3688

1. Bake cake using recipe from here.  Allow to cool completely before slicing of the top crust and then slice the cake into 3 layers.

2. Place water in a large stainless steel pot and sprinkle agar-agar powder over it.  Then add sugar, butter, pandan juice and salt and using a spatula, stir until sugar has dissolved.  Set aside for at least 30 minutes.

3. In a large bowl place coconut milk and hoen kwe flour and stir to mix into a thick smooth batter. Keep in fridge while you prepare the next step.

4. Once Step 1 is done, heat agar-agar mixture on low heat, stirring constantly until agar-agar powder has dissolved.  Do not allow the mixture to boil. Once dissolved, remove from the heat and add the prepared coconut milk/hoen kwe batter.  Use a spatula to stir until fully incorporated. Add green and yellow colour . Stir again to combine.

5. Return the  pot of batter to the heat and continue to cook on medium-low heat until it is thick enough to coat the back of your spatula. Remove from heat and continue to stir to cool the mixture a bit so that it thickens slightly but when you lift up the spoon, it can still flow down and merge with the batter in the pot evenly.

IMG_36896. To assemble cake, place a piece of the cake into the prepared cake ring.  Pour 1/3 portion of  the kaya into the pan.  Use a spatula to even out the kaya, making sure it flows into the sides as well.  Place another piece of cake on the top of the kaya and pour another 1/3 portion into the pan. Repeat for the final layer.

IMG_3690

7. Leave assembled cake to set before transferring into the fridge to chill until it is firm enough to unmould.

IMG_5198

Latest bake @ April ’16

IMG_5185IMG_5186

24 Comments »

  1. Hi Jeannie, if i dont use cake ring to assemble, does it mean i need to use a larger baking pan? Example i bake the cake on 6″ cake pan and then transfer to 8″ cake pan to assemble? Also, do u think i can substitue coconut milk with something else?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      no, use back your 8″ pan that you used to bake your spongecake. I have added some notes to the recipe, please read it again. You can use milk or soy milk.

      Like

  2. Michelle said

    Hi Jeannie! If I use back the same 8 inch cake pan that i use to bake the cake, will there be enough space for the kaya to flow to the side and coat the sides?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Of course! The cake will shrink a bit, so it would be just nice.

      Like

  3. lim said

    Hi Jeannie, white hoen kwe flour is to make the batter thicker? Any idea what I could use to substitute this as my daughter is allergic to beans.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Sorry to hear that, maybe you can try using corn starch but I have not tried it so don’t know how the outcome is going to be. You can try cooking a small batch to try first

      Like

      • lim said

        ohh that’s a good idea, thank you jeannie.

        Like

  4. Jesithra said

    Hi..Jeannie how’re you? First of all my big THANKS to you. Today I tried out your recipe pandan layer cake it’s turned out very well. My little two kids really enjoyed n my husband appreciated me for scrumptious cake. Pandan layer cake it’s their favourite only things I don’t know how to make it and all the while thought that pandan layer cake is very hard to do..but with your methods very easy now…keep sending…THANK YOU VERY MUCH..GOD BLESS YOU.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Glad to know your family loved your cakes. Thank you for your feedback:D

      Like

  5. jo said

    hi, Jeannie, so if I use back the pan, first layer is kaya and do I put in the cake immediately or need to wait awhile?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carmen said

    Hi Jeannie,
    Can I substitute the pandan paste & yellow food coloring?
    Thanks.

    Like

  7. mochabrownify said

    Hi dear. Fresh coconut milk is hard to be obtained where I live. Can I use the boxed coconut milk? Will it affect texture etc?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Won’t affect the texture. Sometimes I use box ones too.

      Like

      • mochabrownify said

        Thank u mucho for feedback. N in the event i can’t find pandan leaves to make the juice, how can i modify this recipe? Been wanting to make it but my area is terrible to get all these ‘fresh’ items. Hope you can advise.

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        use water and add 1 tsp of pandan paste.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Pauline said

    Hi Jeannie, to assemble the cake, did you pour in the kaya custard into the baking pan first, then you place the cut cake into the pan or vice versa? Thanks.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I used a normal seamless pan, so I pour in the custard first then the cake.

      Like

  9. evelyn yap said

    hi Jeannie,
    my main problem is my sponge cake shrink a lot after taking it out from the oven. why is that so? i have not tried your recipe yet but i need to master the baking of a sponge cake first. can you let me know how to make a perfect sponge cake? can i add pandan
    juice to the sponge cake for this recipe?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      The sponge cake is pandan flavored so why cannot add pandan juice? You need to bake the cake until cooked and do not over beat your meringue.
      Too stiff, the cake rise very high while baking but will shrink a lot when cooled.

      Like

      • Evelyn Yap said

        Thanks Jeannie for your reply. Yesterday I had baked using your recipe. It was better than my previous recipe but my cake still came out unsuccessful. Please advise me of my mistakes..
        1) my sponge cake rises very high up and broke into two (top and bottom like a mushroom). Could it be my meringue too stiff? Which is the best way to know that my meringue is ready to use?
        2) my pandan batter didn’t came out well. It was lumpy? Was it becos i had heat up too thick or my agar agar was not well dissolve? Must I use a stainless steel pot or can I use non stick pot? If it is too thick what shall I do in the future?
        Thank you so much…really love your blog alot!

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        1) temperature too hot, need to adjust lower. Meringue is firm peaks, not stiff.
        2) Batter thick probably you are cooking it on too high heat and you have overcooked it. Should be just thick enough to coat the back of your ladle. Cook on low heat, stirring all the time.

        Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

