Red Velvet Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients:

80g plain flour
10g Cocoa powder
12g corn flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
6 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
2 tsp bright red food color
70g Corn oil
100g full cream milk

6 egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
100g caster sugar

Method:-

1. Sift both flours, cocoa powder,baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
2. Mix egg yolks together with vanilla extract, oil and milk until well blended. Add the 2 tsp of red food color, followed by apple cider vinegar. Stir with a whisk to blend. Sift in flour and mix until combined.
3. Beat egg whites until frothy, add in cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form. Gradually add in sugar and beat to firm peaks.
4. Lighten the batter with 1/3 portion of the meringue using a hand whisk. Then add another 1/3 portion of the meringue and gently fold. Repeat with the remaining portion until fully incorporated.
5. Pour into prepared pan, shaking the pan from side to side to smoothen the top. Bake the cake at 150C for 70-80 minutes in water bath or until cake is done. Please adjust your temperature accordingly or use the method that works best for your oven.
After removing cake from the oven, wait for the cake to pull away from the pan before unmoulding.
6. Allow to cool completely before slicing into two pieces. I remove the top crust and reserve it for ganache.

IMG_4125

I dry it in the oven

Cream Cheese Frosting:

226g (8 oz) cream cheese softened
80g icing sugar
1.5 cup Bettercreme topping cream – whip up until stiff
1 tsp vanilla extract

Place cream cheese, vanilla and icing sugar in the stand mixer bowl and beat until creamy. Add the whipped cream and whisk to combine.

Use it to decorate the cake.

Munira’s version:

Ingredients: 
240ml Rich Bettercreme 
70g Cream Cheese, softened 
1/4 cup Icing Sugar
A few drops of Vanilla Extract

Method:

1. Combine cream cheese, vanilla and icing sugar together until smooth.

2. In a separate bowl, I whip the cream until thick, add the cream cheese mixture and continue to whip until stiff.

IMG_4155

Done! This is an order so no cutting!

Quantity for 11″ Square pan:

192g flour
24 gms cocoa powder
29 g corn flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
14 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cider vinegar
4.5 red food colouring
170 g corn oil
240g milk

15 egg white
1/2 tsp tartar
240g caster sugar

For Cream cheese frosting, need to increase to double the quantity

img_3071

28 Comments »

  1. Angeline Tan said

    Hi Jeannie, may I know what is Bettercreme topping cream. Thanks

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi, you can use whipping cream if you can’t find it in your baking supplies shops.

      Like

  2. sam said

    Hi, is this cake strong enough to cover with fondant ?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I don’t think so. You should use dense cake for that.

      Like

  3. Ina said

    Can I know what kind / brand of oven u use… tq

    Like

  4. Ina said

    Hi….Can I know what kind of oven / brand u use …tq

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Ina, I am using Smeg

      Like

  5. Val said

    Hi Jeannie, may I know what pan u uses? can I use a non stick pan? Do I need to grease the pan? Thanks!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Val, I used the normal aluminium pan. Have not used the non stick type before but should be no problem because I do grease the pan although it’s ok not to either.

      Like

  6. Julie said

    Hi Jeannie, I used whipping cream to replace the bettercream. But the cream cheese frosting came out to be very soft. It might be my whipping cream was under whip. How do I rescue the cream? Thanks!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I am not sure but you can try to freeze it to harden slightly and whip it up again. Otherwise, you just have to prepare a new batch

      Like

      • Julie said

        Hi Jeannie, I already mixed the cream cheese with the whipping cream. You meant I can re-whisk again even when all are already combined? I’m sorry as I m new in baking:-) Thanks!

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        I have not try it, but since you need to salvage may as well try lor…I figured if chocolate ganache can whip after cooled, why cream cheese cannot?:P If failed, don’t come after me ya.:P

        Like

      • Julie said

        Thanks, Jeannie. Will try it 😃😃😃.
        I love all your recipes.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hitomi said

    Hi Jeannie, may I check with you … What pan size you are using for the above recipe? Thanks.

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Hi! I always use 8″ round or 7″ square

      Like

      • Hitomi said

        Thank you, dear!

        Like

  8. Anna said

    Hi Jeannie, what type and colour are you using for this cake? Such a vibrant red!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      I bought the liquid colour from the nearby bakery supplies shop. Sorry, I can’t remember the name of the colour.

      Like

      • Ana said

        Oh I see. If I replace cake flour with plain flour, should I omit the corn flour?

        Btw, how does the texture compare between this cake, your chocolate sponge (cooked dough) and your chocolate ogura cake? I really like your ogura recipe and thought can just add red coloring to make red velvet cake. But this recipe has added acid (vinegar + baking soda) so I wonder if this recipe is specifically for red velvet.

        Sorry for so many questions!

        Liked by 1 person

      • jeannietay said

        Ogura is too soft if you are frosting the cake, but yes it is comparable to the chocolate sponge. you can omit the corn flour if using cake flour.

        Like

      • Anna said

        Oops sorry for double posting, my first comment didn’t appear initially. Thank you so much for your prompt reply!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Vicki said

    Hi Jeannie, how long did you dry the unmolded cake back in the oven? Will it not dry the side too? Thanks!

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Cake is very moist so won’t be dry. I kept there until it’s cooled:P

      Like

      • Vicki said

        Cool! Can’t wait to try baking one! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Minnie said

    Hi Jeannie I have tried this recipe and it was fantastic! My son loves blue color so i m wondering if i could use royal blue colour instead to baje him a birthday cake?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I don’t see why not. If you are asian, and can get hold of some natural bluepea flowers, you try using that. Boil the flowers and reduce it until really dark colour is obtained.

      Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

