Pineapple Tarts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_4759

IMG_0094

This recipe is adapted from Sonia’s recipe. Original can be seen here

Ingredients:

400 g salted butter, at room temperature
114 g condensed milk
2 egg yolks + 1 tablespoon egg whites
582 g all-purpose flour
1 tbs of vanilla extract

note: if using unsalted butter, add 2/3 tsp salt

Pineapple Filling (make your own or use store bought if lazy) ~ weigh out 8g and roll into balls.

Prepare egg wash in a bowl. Use egg yolk only for more yellow colour. Mix with some oil for more shine.

Cream the butter, salt and condensed milk together until light and creamy. Add in the egg yolks and vanilla extract and beat until well combined.

Next add the sifted flour and mix on low speed until a dough forms. The dough is ready when it no longer sticks to your hands. Use a presser to press out strips of dough, add a piece of pineapple jam and roll up. Cut off extra dough. Repeat until all jam balls and dough are used up.

Apply egg wash and bake at 160C for 20-30 minutes or until golden.

IMG_4791

This is the contraption I used to pipe out the pastry

IMG_4760

 

IMG_0511

From the quantity as stated in recipe

IMG_0103

This shape yields less

 

IMG_0105

 

32 Comments »

  1. Charlene said

    what presser did you have?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      I have included a picture of the piping contraption:P

      Like

      • Charlene said

        Is there a brand?πŸ™‚

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        No brand:P Nothing fancy but it does the job well.

        Like

      • Charlene said

        Ahh okay haha. so where exactly can i get myself one? sorry for bothering too much.

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        no bother at all, where is your location Charlene? I am in Klang, Malaysia and this thing is easily available in baking supplies shops.

        Like

      • Charlene said

        Im in Australia. Do you know of any websites that carry the product?

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        Hi Charlene, I am afraid I have no idea, I suggest you do without using it but to wrap the jam with the pastry dough and shape into balls. It’s just as delicious!

        Like

      • Charlene said

        sounds good. thanks anyways for your help!πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlene said

    What presser did you use?

    Like

  3. Beautiful tarts! Wow, you started baking for CNY now?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      Oh no! these were made to fulfil orders from a colleague.

      Like

  4. Lily said

    Hi Jeannie

    Are the tarts easily to handle not leaving much crumbs or break easily?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      yes quiet easy to handle, and melt in mouth texture. I would suggest packing in containers in 2-3 layers as I find the bottom ones do break under the weight of the tarts.

      Like

      • Lily said

        Thanks for the tips. Btw, do the tarts have milk smell as condensed milk is used.

        Like

      • jeannietay said

        I can’t detect the smell, maybe due to the fact that I added some vanilla extract.

        Like

  5. Michelle said

    HI Jeannie, is this pineapple tarts melted-in-your mouth type ?

    Like

  6. Karen luvswesavory said

    Hi Jeannie,
    Delicious pineapple tarts ! Oh starting for CNY alreadyπŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Oh no! These can’t last till CNY! My colleague ordered these:P

      Like

  7. Anne said

    Ho ! Ho ! Ho ! Just passing by to greet you and your loved ones , Happy Holidays !!!! Any leftovers ?! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Anne! Nice to see you breezing through, yes! I have reserved a small box for you hahaha! Happy New Year ahead!

      Like

  8. KIm said

    HI Jeannie

    How much filling and dough did you use to made the round type?
    Thanks

    Happy CNY

    Kim

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      I used 10g dough and 8g filling.

      Like

      • KIm said

        thanks for the info. Can wait the make it this week-end.

        Like

  9. Chloe said

    Hi Jeannie. Very lovely and perfect looking tarts especially the nastar ones. I tried this but I find my dough to be too stiff so much so I can’t pipe it using my old fashioned nastar presser (without the plunger. Pressed out dough with fingers). I just rolled them in 10gm balls. I didn’t add the 1 tbsp of egg white. All else I follow exactly. Have u tried this recipie like Sonia just with yolk only. Also does your round balls have fine line cracks? Want to try again before cny. Hope u can help. Thanks. Chloe . the pastry is very delicious.

    Like

  10. jeannietay said

    Yes, I have tried without the egg white and I find it too melt in mouth but still acceptable. Just that when I packed into bigger tub, the bottom ones broke because too soft. Fine cracks on the balls definitely have. Try to beat the butter longer and you will get softer dough.

    Like

  11. Moodee said

    Hi Jeannie, I’m a newbie baker & failing in my attempts to bake pineapple tarts. My dough is either too crumbly or too soft!😦 When you cream the butter, salt and condensed milk together, what do u use? A handheld mixer or is a wooden spoon ok too? Same for mixing the flour… Thanks in advance for your advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeannietay said

      Hi Moodee, I used the stand mixer to cream the butter and condensed milk until creamy (about 2 minutes on medium speed) then slowly add in egg yolk, creaming well after each addition. Then add in the flour and still using the mixer on low speed to mix in. THen I use my hand to thoroughly mix until smooth. It’s actually not critical to overbeat the butter a bit. If dough is too soft just add a tablespoon or two more flour. Too crumbly, then rub in some softened butter.

      Like

      • Moodee said

        Thank you so so much for your detailed advice! I will buy a mixer and try again using your method!

        Like

  12. Stephanie said

    Hi Jeannie,

    May I ask roughly how many round pineapple tarts this recipe will yield?

    Like

    • jeannietay said

      err… I didn’t count, sorry!

      Like

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

